Book Progress – Making It Up As I Go

Second Installment of the hit literary TV show!

…Ok well it’s not on TV and it’s not a show but you get the point.

First off, I decided that starting this week I would write at least one page a day and I’ve been doing great so far! I’m up to 10 pages so the work is still a bit slow but hey I’m working on it (I still need to write my page for today as well).

But what I really want to focus on today is coming up with the timeline for the story, aka story boarding. I believe it was either Sunday or Monday where I decided I needed to sit down and write out the events of the story, in order. What I found out is that I’m really bad at thinking that far into the future. However, around Wednesday, I suddenly had an idea for an event further in the story, that fit my timeline nicely. This made me realize that I’m actually pretty good at making it up as I go.

I don’t mean that in a “I’m winging the story and it’s going to be awful” sort of way, rather, I mean that as a “I can’t think this far into the future so let me run with what I have at the moment and the ideas will come to me” sort of way. So if I hit a bump during story boarding or brainstorming, I know that I can just continue writing and I’ll come up with an idea a couple pages or so down.

Is this the ideal way to write a book? No clue. I haven’t done this before. All I know is, it seems to be working out for me. Kind of short this time but that’s all I have for this week. See you all next week!

Leave a Reply

